2023 SHC Classic Car Friday – Class Finals

The podium results across the nine Classic Car Friday class finals have been decided, and H9 continued with a shake-up. With Franco Scribante out of action due to a blown engine, Andre Bezuidenhout was in serious contention for the class title. However he had a poor start with the car bogging down off the line, and he only managed a time of 43.021 seconds.

In contrast, Ian Schofield enjoyed his best run of the day, posting a time of 41.674 seconds in the 1977 March 77B to claim the class win, with Bezuidenhout having to settle for runner-up position and Charles Arton classified in third (45.936 sec).

Rui Campos (1976 Porsche 911 RSR) took the class H8 victory on 46.244 sec, while Trevor Tuck secured the H7 trophy with a time of 52.059 sec in the 1974 Alfa Romeo Guilia 2000 Rally.

The H6 win went to James Temple (1965 Shelby Daytona Coupe) with a time of 48.243 seconds, with Kyle Brink emerging victorious in H5 (54.723 sec) in the 1959 Austin Mini Cooper S.

Clayton Kimber took the H4 honours (52.546 sec) in the road-going version of the Shelby Daytona Coupe. Ashley Baud topped H3 (1:00.243) in the 1967 Alga Romeo GT Junior, with Peter MacPherson winning H2 in the 1964 Ford GT40 (55.948 sec).

In the handicap format class H1, where results are judged by which competitor gets closest to their calculated target time, Margie White earned the win in her 1937 Austin 7 Special, followed by Roger Lewis (1934 MG Special Hedgehog) and Gino Noli (1935 Austin 7 Ulster).

Castrol Motorpress
Release compiled by Colin Mileman (082-897-6145 colin@milemanmedia.co.za)