2024 Simola Hillclimb – Classic Car Friday Class Finals

The winners of the various Classic Car Friday classes have been decided after hot and furious action throughout the day’s scorching running.

In the handicap class H1, Callum Price took the win in the 1946 Austin Special, coming the closest to his target time (101.35%).

Peter MacPherson took class H2 in the 1964 Ford GT40, while Jandre Bezuidenhout secured the class H3 victory in the 1985 Porsche 944 Turbo Cup.

The class H4 win went to Gavin Rooke (1973 Porsche 911), with Ian Kilburn securing the class H5 trophy in the 1972 Datsun GX Coupe. James Temple was victorious in H6 in the mighty Shelby Daytona Coupe, while Rob Perce was crowned winner of H7 in the 1980 Volkswagen Golf Manufacturer’s Challenge car. Rui Campos added to his trophy cabinet with gold in H8 the 1974 Porsche 911 RSR.

The epic class H9 battle went Franco Scribante’s way as he powered the 1970 Chevron B19 to the win with an epic time of 41.796 seconds – despite the car bogging down off the start. He trounced Andre Bezuidenhout by 0.328 seconds.

Castrol Motorpress
Release compiled by Colin Mileman (082-897-6145 colin@milemanmedia.co.za)