Q6 cancelled after Chris Hollis crash

The final qualifying round was cancelled after #18 Chris Hollis ran wide at exit of Turn 5 and shot left up the banking at Turn 6. The car has been damaged but Chris is fine. As a result the final qualifying times stand as per the end Q5.

In the Road and Supercar category, JP van der Walt topped the qualifying times on 45.336 seconds, but his crash puts him out of the running. Gordon Nicholson was second (46.674 sec), ahead of Reghard Roets (48.523 sec) and Peter Lindenberg (49.947 sec).

Franco Scribante leads the Modified Saloon Car class on 39.552 seconds ahead of Wade van Zummeren (39.846 sec), Dawie Joubert (39.888 sec) and Wilhelm Baard (40.752 sec).

Andre Bezuidenhout is in a class of his own, comfortably heading the Single Seater and Sports Prototypes class with an impressive time of 35.449 seconds. Robert Wolk is just under three seconds adrift with a best time of 38.294 seconds, followed by Byron Mitchell (40.123 sec) and Andrew Mitchell (40.614 sec).

The final qualifying times determine the top three competitors from each of the individual classes that make it to the next session – the Class Finals. The qualifying results also define the top 10 competitors that proceed to the all-or-nothing Top 10 Shootouts for the three categories to decide the respective King of the Hill titles: Road and Supercar, Modified Saloon Cars, and the Single Seaters and Sports Prototypes.

Castrol Motorpress
Release compiled by Colin Mileman (082-897-6145 colin@milemanmedia.co.za)
Media Enquiries: Robin Emslie
Email: twolakes@iafrica.com | Tel: +27 44 883 1055 | Cell: 083 255 8477
www.simolahillclimb.com | https://simolahillclimb.motorpress.co.za/login